President’s Award for Nurses 2015

                This year, the President’s Award for Nurses was given to seven exemplary nurses. This is the largest number of recipients since the awards started in 2000. With this, the total number of recipients for the Award has reached 52.

2.              Reflecting excellence throughout the diverse constituents of our healthcare system, most healthcare settings are represented in this year’s awards. These include the Acute hospitals, Community care, Intermediate and Long Term Care (ILTC) and Statutory Board.

3.              They received their awards from President Tony Tan Keng Yam at the Nurses’ Day Reception at the Istana on 31 July 2015. This prestigious annual award is the highest accolade of the nursing profession, and recognises the country’s most outstanding nurses who have shown sustained outstanding performance in their contributions to patient care, education, leadership, research and administration.

4.              All registered nurses working in the public and private healthcare institutions, community hospitals, nursing homes, hospices and educational institutions can be nominated for the award to recognise their significant contributions in nursing.  Nominations can come from the healthcare institutions, public or peers. A panel, comprising the Chairman of the Health Government Parliamentary Committee, the Chief Nursing Officer (Ministry of Health), and Board Members of public institutions, will interview and select distinguished nurses from the nominees to receive the award.

5.              This year’s recipients are:

  • Stephanie Teo Swee Hong
    Deputy Director of Nursing, SingHealth Polyclinics
  • Pua Lay Hoon
    Deputy Director, Nursing (Education and Practice), Tan Tock Seng Hospital
  • Velusamy Poomkothammal
    Assistant Director, Nursing, Khoo Teck Puat Hospital
  • Teo Lee Wah
    Senior Nurse Clinician & Advanced Practice Nurse, National Heart Centre Singapore
  • Lim Su-Fee
    Senior Nurse Clinician & Advanced Practice Nurse, Singapore General Hospital
  • Zeenat Binte Mohd Salim
    Nurse Manager, Health Promotion Board
  • Jocelyn Ng Ling Hui
    Nurse Educator, Ang Mo Kio - Thye Hua Kwan Hospital

For more information on the winners, please refer to the Annex.

6.              The award winners each received a trophy, a certificate and a cash prize that can be used to attend conferences and training programmes of their choice for professional and personal development. The quantum of the cash prize was raised from $6,000 to $10,000 in 2014, on the recommendation of the National Nursing Taskforce to better recognise outstanding nurses for their contributions.



31 JULY 2015 

  Return to Top