News Highlights

Find speeches, press releases and forum replies. rss icon
Click here for E-Consultation.

07 Nov 2022

5th Nov 2021

      Four individuals and two teams received the National Medical Excellence Awards (NMEA) this year, for excellence in the areas of care quality, patient safety, research, as well as education and training. Mr Ong Ye Kung, Minister for Health, gave out the awards at the NMEA ceremony held on 5 November 2021.


2.         This annual national award recognises the efforts of outstanding clinicians, clinician scientists and other healthcare professionals for their contributions. It acknowledges their achievements in advancing healthcare, improving the standards of patient safety and driving research and education, which ultimately improve people's lives.


3.         This year’s award recipients are:

Award Categories


Healthcare Institution/Cluster

National Outstanding Clinician Award

Professor Dale Fisher

National University Hospital (National University Health System)

National Outstanding Clinician Scientist Award

Professor Chong Siow Ann

Institute of Mental Health (National Healthcare Group)

National Outstanding Clinician Mentor Award

Associate Professor Wong Kok Seng

SingHealth Community Hospitals (Singapore Health Services)

National Outstanding Clinician Educator Award

Professor Tan Hak Koon

KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital (Singapore Health Services)

National Clinical Excellence Team Award

COVID-19 Research Workgroup

Associate Professor David Lye Chien Boon

Professor Lisa Ng Fong Poh

Dr Barnaby Young

Dr Chia Wan Ni

National Centre for Infectious Diseases (National Healthcare Group)

GPFIRST Programme

Clinical Associate Professor Steven Lim Hoon Chin

Clinical Associate Professor How Choon How

Ms Priscilla Goh

Dr Oh Hong Choon

Changi General Hospital (Singapore Health Services)