News Highlights

Find speeches, press releases and forum replies. rss icon
Click here for E-Consultation.

31 Aug 2023

31st Aug 2023

     Six individuals and one team received the National Medical Excellence Awards (NMEA) this year, for excellence in the areas of care quality, patient safety, research, as well as education and training. Mr Ong Ye Kung, Minister for Health, gave out the awards at the NMEA ceremony held on 31 August 2023.


2.     The annual national award recognises the efforts of outstanding clinicians, clinician scientists and other healthcare professionals for their contributions. It acknowledges their achievements in advancing healthcare, improving the standards of patient safety and driving research and education, which ultimately improve people's lives.


3.     This year’s award recipients are:


Award Category


Healthcare Institution/Cluster

National Outstanding Clinician Award

Professor William Hwang Ying Khee

National Cancer Centre Singapore (Singapore Health Services)

Professor Tan Huay Cheem

National University Heart Centre Singapore (National University Health System)

National Outstanding Clinician Scientist Award

Associate Professor Mahesh A Choolani

Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore (National University Health System)

National Outstanding Clinician Mentor Award

Adjunct Associate Professor Brenda Ang Sze Peng

Tan Tock Seng Hospital (National Healthcare Group)

Professor Julian Thumboo

Singapore General Hospital (Singapore Health Services)

National Outstanding Clinician Educator Award

Associate Professor Tan Choon Kiat Nigel

National Neuroscience Institute (Singapore Health Services)

 National Clinical Excellence Team Award 


Dr Lien Tsung Chien Christopher

Ms Yee Kai Ying

Dr Shaun Gerald Nathan

Ms Ang Lay Teng

 Changi General Hospital (Singapore Health Services)

Annex - National Medical Excellence Awards 2023 Recipients



31 AUGUST 2023