News Highlights

Find speeches, press releases and forum replies. rss icon
Click here for E-Consultation.

07 Nov 2022

18th Mar 2020

          In view of the heightened risk of importation of COVID-19 cases into Singapore, the Multi-Ministry Taskforce will implement additional measures for all travellers entering Singapore.

2.        Globally, there has been a sharp increase in cases and widening spread across the world. To date, there are close to 200,000 COVID-19 cases across 159 countries, and more than 7,900 deaths. Many countries have seen an exponential rise in cases recently, and more than 40,000 new cases have been reported in the past three days. Globally the number of cases and deaths has surpassed those in China since the beginning of the outbreak. The World Health Organization has urged its member states to take urgent and aggressive measures to stop the transmission of COVID-19.

3.        In Singapore, over the past three days[1], about 70 percent of our new COVID-19 cases were imported, most of whom were Singapore residents and long-term pass holders returning to Singapore after travel abroad.

Singaporeans advised to defer all travel abroad

4.        In view of the heightened risk of further importation of COVID-19 to Singapore, Singaporeans are advised to defer all travel abroad with immediate effect. This supercedes our earlier advisory announced on 15 March to defer all non-essential travel abroad.[2] The expansion of the travel advisory is to reduce the risk of Singaporeans being infected with the virus when abroad, and spreading it to other Singaporeans when they return.

14-Day Stay-Home Notice for all travellers

5.        To further reduce the risk of further importation leading to community spread in Singapore, the Multi-Ministry Taskforce will put in place additional measures for all travellers entering Singapore. From 20 March 2020, 2359 hours, all Singaporeans, Permanent Residents, Long Term Pass holders and short term visitors entering Singapore will be issued a 14-day Stay-Home Notice (SHN).[3] They will have to provide proof of the place where they will serve the 14-day SHN, for example a hotel booking covering the entire period, or a place of residence they or their family members own.

6.        As announced previously, short-term visitors with recent travel history to mainland China, France, Germany, Iran, Italy, Republic of Korea and Spain, are not allowed to enter or transit in Singapore.

7.        For the land crossings with Malaysia, there are already restrictions imposed by Malaysia under their Movement Control Order. The Singapore-Malaysia Special Working Committee (co-chaired by Senior Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security Teo Chee Hean, and Malaysian Senior Minister and Minister of Defence Dato' Sri Ismail Sabri Yaakob and Johor Menteri Besar Datuk Ir. Hasni Mohammad) are discussing a joint mitigation plan to ensure the safe and sustainable movement of people, goods and services between the two countries. More details will be announced when ready.

8.        Persons under SHN will have to remain in their place of residence at all times for 14 days after entering Singapore.

9.        The existing measures which apply to all inbound travellers, such as requiring those who exhibit fever and/or other symptoms of respiratory illness to undergo a COVID-19 swab test at the checkpoints, will continue to apply.

10.       Singapore’s measures for inbound travellers in relation to COVID-19, including the new ones announced in this press statement, are summarised in the Annex.

11.       As Singapore’s measures will evolve according to the global situation, Singaporeans should check the MOH website ( for the latest measures.


[1] As of 18 March, 12pm.

[2] Singaporeans are also advised to defer all travel to Hubei province (mainland China).

[3] The SHN will not apply to travellers transiting in Singapore without leaving the transit area.