News Highlights

Find speeches, press releases and forum replies. rss icon
Click here for E-Consultation.

07 Nov 2022

31st Dec 2021

1.     When the Omicron variant of concern surfaced globally, the Multi-Ministry Taskforce (MTF) announced enhanced testing regime for travellers arriving via the Vaccinated Travel Lanes (VTLs) to reduce the risk of spread of Omicron into Singapore. As of 30 December 2021, we have detected 912 Omicron imported cases; of whom 685 were detected through our enhanced testing regime for VTL travellers.


2.     We previously announced that all VTL travellers [1] must undergo COVID-19 tests up till Day 7 of their arrival and strictly adhere to this enhanced testing regime (please see Annex for testing regime) for four weeks in the first instance (until 2 January 2022). The enhancement has proven effective in detecting imported Omicron cases amongst VTL travellers and reducing onward transmission. As such, we will be extending the enhanced testing regime for an additional four weeks and will review it as the situation evolves.


3.     We had earlier also required all non-VTL travellers entering Singapore to undergo on-arrival tests (OAT). This was to pick up the Omicron cases early, as the variant was new, and we wanted to learn more about it. As we have gathered more information on the Omicron variant, we have further assessed that OATs for non-VTL travellers, who are all required to serve a 7 or 10 day Stay Home Notice (SHN) either at their place of residence or at a dedicated facility, are no longer required. In addition, these travellers will also be required to undergo a Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test at the end of their SHN, and have to test negative before they are allowed to exit SHN, further reducing the risk of onward transmission. Hence, from 7 January 2022, 2359 hours (Singapore time), all non-VTL travellers entering Singapore from Category II (non-VTL), III and IV countries will no longer be required to undergo a COVID-19 PCR test on-arrival.


Regular Review of Border Measures


4.     As the global situation evolves, we will continue to adjust our border measures in tandem with our roadmap to becoming a COVID resilient nation. The full list of Safe Travel Lanes for travel to Singapore and prevailing border measures under each lane for different categories and changes to border measures will be updated on the SafeTravel website. Not all lanes may utilise the Category I/II/III/IV health measure framework. Travellers are advised to visit the website to check the latest border measures for their country/region which will apply upon entry into Singapore and be prepared to be subjected to the prevailing border measures upon entry.



31 DECEMBER 2021

[1] As announced on 4 December 2021, all Construction, Marine Shipyard and Process (CMP) S Pass and work permit holders, as well as other dormitory-bound work pass holders, will not be allowed to enter Singapore via VTLs.